Marriage Possibility Today in Mississippi

Published on November 12 2014 No Comment
Marriage Possibility Today in Mississippi

Today, there is a possibility that gay and lesbian couples could marry legally in Mississippi.

Assuming the judge finds for the plaintiffs and doesn’t recognize the stay (requested by Bryant, et al), marriage equality could become the law until a stay is issued.

If that window opens (for any length of time) and you have a desire to be married, you must:

  1. In Mississippi, you will need to show a picture id such as Drivers License. You can also use Military ID, DD 214, or a document that shows evidence of your age, like a life insurance policy or school records. Having your Social Security card, Birth Certificate, etc. may be helpful. You will also need to know your parents addresses, and your mothers’ maiden must present proof of age such as a valid driver’s license or birth certificate. Also, if you have been divorced in the past 6 months you must present your divorce papers.
  2. Most counties in Mississippi only require that you know the date (mm/dd/yy) and how your last marriage ended and that you sign an affidavit at the time you apply that all information you have provided is true and correct.
  3. Visit a circuit clerk’s office to file for a marriage license. Here’s a list or use Google to find your county’s clerk.
  4. It will cost you approximately $22-30 cash to get married in most Mississippi counties. Don’t leave home without cash in your pocket!
  5. You MUST have the license officiated by a judge or an ordained member of religious clergy. If you want it recognized within this window, you must do so immediately. Officiants include clergy (in good standing), mayors, local Board of Supervisors members, and judges of the state of Mississippi Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, Circuit court, Chancery court, Justice court, or County court.

Once your marriage license has been issued, the license is valid indefinitely in Mississippi.

Note: a blood test is not required and there is no waiting period for applicants in Mississippi.

If this window for legal marriage equality opens and you experience problems, please notify us ( or the ACLU of Mississippi.

*Parental consent is needed in Mississippi if under 21 years of age. If parents or guardians do not give consent at time of application, they will be notified via certified mail. The marriage application will be held for three (3) days.
Marriage licenses cannot be issued to males under 17 or to females under 15 years of age unless the parents petition the judge to waive the minimum age requirements.